<style>.lazy{display:none}</style>These are the countries that are in NATO | Money Investors

NATO has convened an emergency meeting of allied ambassadors with the intention of examining the incident registered in Poland where two people died in the border town of Przewodow. NATO spokeswoman Oana Lungescu has assured that “the Secretary-General will chair an emergency meeting of NATO ambassadors this Wednesday to discuss this tragic accident.” 

The meeting was called in the wake of a missile strike in Poland near the Ukrainian border, raising concerns about a possible expansion of the Russia-Ukraine conflict into NATO countries. NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization) is an international organization of a military and political nature that was created to guarantee the security and freedom of its member countries.

In total there are 12 countries from around the world that signed the Washington Treaty on April 4, 1949, with the aim of creating NATO. The countries that founded this organization are the following: 

  • USA
  • Canada
  • Belgium
  • Denmark
  • Holland
  • France
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Norway
  • Luxembourg
  • United Kingdom
  • Portugal

As the years have passed, other countries, specifically 18, have joined this organization. Currently, a total of 30 countries that are part of NATO. 

  • Greece and Turkey joined in 1952.
  • Federal Republic of Germany, in 1955
  • Spain, in 1982
  • Hungary, Poland and the Czech Republic, in 1999
  • Romania, Bulgaria, Slovenia, Slovakia, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania, in 2004
  • Croatia and Albania, in 2009
  • Montenegro, in 2017
  • Macedonia, in 2020

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

Zeen Subscribe
A customizable subscription slide-in box to promote your newsletter
[mc4wp_form id="314"]